Changes on the Library Board of Trustees



Chelsea Howell photo by Charlie Schoenbrodt

Chelsea Howell
photo by Charlie Schoenbrodt

There has been a change on the Spring Hill Public Library Board of Trustees (LBOT).  The three-year terms of Blair Morgan and Phil Bennett expired.  The call for applicants to fill the two positions resulted in Judge Morgan expressing her desire to remain on the LBOT.  There were two other applicants.  Mr. Bennett did not reapply.  The Board of Mayor and Aldermen select from those who apply.  Judge Morgan was retained on the LBOT and  Ms. Chelsea Howell was selected to fill the position vacated by Mr. Bennett.  Ms. Howell is a mother, frequent visitor to the Library, and  resident of Ashwick Park subdivision.

The LBOT is charged with overseeing the operation of our Library.  According to the State of Tennessee, public libraries are to operate independently, supervised by a Board of Directors selected by the City’s legislative body.  The Spring Hill LBOT is composed of seven members who each serve three-year terms.  Six of the members serve three staggered terms.  The seventh member is a member of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen (BOMA), elected by that Board.

The Spring Hill Public Library is included in the Tennessee State Buffalo Valley District.  Within the District are Columbia, Brentwood, Franklin and other community libraries in the south central part of the State.  The Spring Hill Library consistently ranks just behind the Brentwood Library relative to patron utilization.  It is known for its diverse selection of materials available for research and loan as well as activities for its patrons.  The only noticeable inadequacy of the Spring Hill Library is space.  The short term solution, come early to events at the library.  The long term solution, a new, larger library.


Charlie Schoenbrodt may be contacted at or P. O. Box 892, Spring Hill, TN 37174 or 615-405-2764.